Author Topic: Is this possible in Laserboy?  (Read 9136 times)

Offline vide0n

• Milliwatts: 0
    • View Profile
Is this possible in Laserboy?
« on: February 05, 2015, 11:06:57 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to working with lasers and control, but I'm trying to do something a little bit different and I'm not quite sure if it's possible with Laserboy - at least not in the way I'm thinking of it. The way I understand Laserboy so far is that you sketch your patterns frame by frame, save/output as one of multiple formats and push this out to a laser through a DAC. (I do not yet have any laser hardware and have just installed this program an hour ago so I'm still working a lot out, I'm not even sure how to run a show! I'm just trying to save a few thousand dollars using the open source stuff.  :D )

In terms of patterns I'm not trying to do anything fancy, I'm just interested in a single line, and I'd like to change it's length over time. This is implemented in a straightforward way with a periodic looping animation that has the line growing and shrinking. What I would like to achieve is the ability to edit the framerate of this animation in real time - but it seems to me that the files may be output and shown at a particular rate, and that's that.

There seems to be a lot of helpful advice on the forum so if anyone could point me in the right direction I'd be very grateful.  :D  I was hoping to run a very basic show where I could speed up some animations through some TCP/IP networking on a mobile device so I don't have to be at the terminal.  8)  If I'm unable to edit the framerate in real time I'm stuffed!

Offline James

• Administrator
  • Milliwatts: 47
    • View Profile
    • LaserBoy !!!
Re: Is this possible in Laserboy?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 03:44:58 pm »